California Institute of the Arts Collection, 1914-1989Publications Collection, 1964-Feminist Art Materials Collection, 1971-2007Photographic Materials Collection, 1964-1993School of Art Collection, 1969-1976; 1984-1991Moving Image CollectionsSchool of Design Collection, 1966-1976
This is the "Home" page of the "Institute Archive" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Institute Archive  

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.calarts.edu/content.php?pid=564437 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the CalArts Institute Archive

Our Institute Archive's collections contain documents, photographs, publications, clippings, programs, sound files, video recordings, posters, and miscellaneous items documenting the history of CalArts. There are also a small number of documents, primarily publications, from Chouinard Art School and the Los Angeles Music Conservatory, two institutions which merged in the late 1960’s to form CalArts.

The mission of the CalArts Institute Archive is to identify, collect, arrange, describe, preserve, and make accessible records of enduring historical, administrative, legal, fiscal, educational, and artistic value which document the history of CalArts, Roy and Edna Disney/CalArts Theater (REDCAT), the Center for New Performance (CNP), and the Community Arts Partnership (CAP). The Institute Archive serves as the institutional memory and final repository for official records generated by faculty, staff, students, academic programs, administrative offices, and campus organizations.

 

 

Location

CalArts is located at 24700 McBean Parkway, Valencia, CA 91355. Parking on campus is free. The archive is located in the library, on the 2nd floor of CalArts' Main Building.

 

Reference requests and services

We provide two types of reference services:

1) researching and transferring information to the researcher

2) providing references to our finding aids and suggesting a visit to view archival materials

To submit a reference question or make an appointment to view archival materials please fill out a request form. Upon receipt, the institute archivist will contact you about your request.

Please allow up to one week for the processing of all requests.

 

 

 

Viewing hours

Monday-Friday (September-May)

9:30am to 4:30pm

Monday-Thursday (May-August)

9:30am to 4:30pm

Viewing of archival materials takes place in the circulation area of the library.

 

Contact

Kathy Carbone, Institute Archivist

libraryarchive@calarts.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip