This is the "Home" page of the "Theater Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theater Research Guide   Tags: performance, playscripts, theater design, theater research  

Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.calarts.edu/content.php?pid=506292 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kathy Carbone, Performing Arts Librarian and Institute Archivist
Contact Info
661.253.7882
Send Email
 
 

Welcome to the Theater Research Guide

This guide is intended to assist all CalArts students, staff, and faculty interested in theater. This guide contains information to help you discover and locate theater related books, periodicals, articles, videos, audio streams, and Web sites. If you have suggestions about things you would like included, please email me.

 

Searching the library catalog, browsing the stacks

WorldCat Local: Search the CalArts Library's collection and beyond

Library of Congress (LC) call number range for theater: P (Language and Literature)

Short LC call number guide for theater:

  • Drama. History: PN1720-1861

  • Puppetry: PN1972

  • Monologues: PN2080

  • Direction and Production: PN2053

  • Art of Acting: PN2061-2071

  • Design, Lighting, Construction: PN2085-2091

  • Collections of General Literature. Drama: PN6110.5-6120

  • American Drama History and Criticism: PS330-352

  • American Drama Collections: PS623-635

  • American Authors: PS700-3626

Related topics:

  • Houses. Dwellings: GT 170-474

  • Costume. Dress. Fashion: GT500-2370

  • Musical Theater: MT955-956

  • Interior Decoration. House Decoration: NK1700-3505

  • Clothing Manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring: TT490-695

  • Hairdressing: TT950-979

Searching for plays:

  • Plays are often collected in anthologies. The Play Index, INTER-PLAY or a print index (see below) will give you the title of the anthology or other source.

Play indexes in print:
Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections : An Author and Title Index to Plays Appearing in Collections Published Since 1900.

Reference PN1655 .O8 2011

Index to Characters in the Performing Arts. Harold S. Sharp and Marjorie Z. Sharp
Reference PN1579 .S45

The Character Catalogue : Who's Who in One Hundred Fifty Modern Plays.  Richard Peterson
Reference PN1711 .P4

The Drama Scholars' Index to Plays and Filmscripts : A Guide to Plays and Filmscripts in Selected Anthologies, Series, and Periodicals. Gordon Samples.
Stacks  Z5781 .S17

Drury's Guide to Best Plays. James A. Salem
Reference  Z5781 .D8 1987

 

CalArts Library

Theater materials in the CalArts library support the curricular needs of the School of Theater as well as the Institute as a whole.

The library has a music/sound listening area which includes cassette, LP, and CD players. Headphones are available at the Circulation Desk.

Films and videos may be watched in our Film Library.

The library takes purchase requests! Please submit your request here.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip